of Four

Ecuador is one of the most biodiverse countries in the world. It’s comprised of four distinct regions: el Oriente (Amazon Jungle), la Sierra (Andes Mountains), la Costa (Pacific Coastal Lowlands), and the Galápagos Islands.


Andes Mountains

La Sierra is where the roses of Taylor Skye Flowers are grown. This region in the best in the world to grow roses for a few reasons. The soil of this land is fortified with mineral-rich volcanic ash from nearby volcanos. Also, its position along the equator allows it to receive natural sunlight year-round. An interesting fact is that the tallest active volcano in the world called Cotopaxi (5,897 m) resides in la Sierra. This volcano holds significant cultural value and is commonly depicted in traditional paintings of the indigenous people of Tiguas.


Amazon Jungle

El Oriente covers the eastern slopes of the Ecuadorian Andes and descends into the plains of the Amazon basin. Here you will find a menagerie of flora and fauna that flourish in the hot and humid climate of the rainforest. El Oriente is also home to many of Ecuador’s indigenous groups. There are more than a dozen distinct groups in Ecuador, speaking some 20 different languages.


Pacific Coastal Lowlands

La Costa borders the Pacific Ocean and rises to the foothills of the Andes Mountains. In the plain between the ocean and mountains exists numerous banana, cacao and coffee plantations. Many types of tropical forests grow alongside the coastal mountain ranges. These forests are considered the most endangered tropical forests in the world and are part of the Tumbes-Choco-Magdalena biodiversity hotspot that extends along the coast of the easternmost corner of Panama, through Colombia and Ecuador, until the northwestern corner of Peru.


The Galápagos Islands are located 850 miles off the coast of Ecuador. The islands are famous for their association with Charles Darwin. It is here where his observations of wildlife led him to develop The Theory of Natural Selection as a means of evolution. The Galápagos is comprised of 127 islands, and diverse flora and fauna are found among them. Distinct habitat zones such as coral reefs and highland forests contribute to why the islands are so biodiverse.  Some of the animals of the Galápagos include giant turtles, iguanas, flamingos, penguins, and blue footed-boobies.